The full preview of the November BurdaStyle Magazine is up on both the German and Russian sites, which means it’s time for another Burda review!  October was definitely one of my favorite issues of the year, and I’m a bit sad to say that November isn’t quite living up to that level of excitement for me.  For some reason this issue feels a bit like the fall leftovers edition.  There isn’t anything really outstanding, but there isn’t anything truly terrible either.  It’s all just sort of there.  But, as always, there is plenty to look at, so let’s get started:

Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 10.42.09 PM

I feel like all the cool coat designs went into the October issue.  The coats and jackets this month really feel like a hodge-podge of leftover designs:

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.13.31 PM3058541_71b8c985b5

This coat is pretty basic; perfect for the faux fur fabric Burda is using here.  It’s cute – the collar looks really cozy, and the slanted patch pockets are a fun and somewhat practical detail.  I just can’t ever really get too excited about fur coat designs.  They are simple of necessity, and the finished product is nice, if you are wanting a fur coat, but there’s never really much to get really excited about with them design-wise.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.05.14 PM3058641_a6e02a9ef6

This blazer, on the other hand, has some beautiful design details.  I love how the pocket flaps are rotated to the side to create almost a faux peplum effect.  The collarless style is pretty sleek looking too.  Super stylish.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.09.28 PM3058751_650c739fda3058701_007032eb18Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.35.21 PM

I’m a bit torn on this one – I like the burgundy version with the slim pockets, but I’m much less of a fan of the brown version with the patch pockets.  With the design-heavy burgundy print, this simple style of jacket makes sense; it lets the fabric shine.  On the brown version the patch pockets are almost too much of a contrast and take up so much of the front of the jacket it seems unproportional.  The piping details are fun though.

The dresses this month also feel very recycled and uninspired:

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.21.29 PM3058551_ecca966bfa3058511_74e7e28d88Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.32.10 PM

I’m pretty sure I’ve seen both this bodice and skirt from Burda before, though perhaps not together in the same dress.  I like this dress, but I’m not wowed by it.  I also think it is much more successful in the matte wool crepe-like fabric than the ultra shiny satin.  Also, as a heads-up, this pattern is sized in the Burda Tall range.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.38.38 PM3058741_33544ce98a

I really like this wrap dress, but, it is just a wrap dress.  I know wrap dresses are always in style, but between this issue and the Vogue release it feels like they are having a bit of a resurgence.  I like the really classic shape of this one, and the drape of the skirt is quite pretty.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.12.18 PM3058491_72f085fc3d

It’s nearly impossible to see the detail of this dress in either the model photo or the garment photo, but the line drawing shows lots of nice seaming and top stitching details.  This could be a great office dress for the fall/winter, especially over tights.  Not sure about the crazy boots the model is wearing, but, you know, to each their own.

Burda gives us a lot of tops this month:

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.32.47 PM3058801_6bb3932a083058791_479f09fb5fScreen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.16.30 PM

Ok, I know this is a really basic sweater/sweatshirt, but I’d totally live in this all winter.  The slightly oversized slouchy style looks so comfortable!  It’d be a great way to use up some knit fabrics too.  And the hoodie version is pretty cute as well – the different pocket detail elevates the look a bit beyond the typical sweatshirt style.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.36.19 PM3058711_0f3bdc3d6c

This wrap top is the same as the dress from above.  I still like it.  Interesting how they showcase it being worn over a button down, almost like a cardigan.  I wonder how well the wrap stays wrapped.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.15.16 PM3058501_bad76653713058811_3bcfc1fd27Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.16.04 PM

This is a pretty basic button down.  I prefer it in the printed fabric – it looks so much more comfortable in the less stiff fabrication.  I do like the curved hem, and the slightly oversized fit could be interesting for layering, as shown to the right.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.29.09 PM3058831_678266a82d3058581_b9362af4d2Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.30.12 PM

I believe this is a faux-wrap top?  The bottom has a faux-wrap peplum-ish style anyway.  The pintuck detail is an interesting feature.  Based on the line drawing I’d not have been too interested, but the model photos are kind of selling me on this look.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.35.48 PM3058681_766bbe367d

The gathered dropped sleeves seem like an interesting detail, but this top really looks like it’s just swallowing her.  Perhaps in a different fabric I’d enjoy it more, but, as is it’s a bit much.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.31.24 PM3058731_bde180f092

The oversized drapiness doesn’t bother me as much with this pattern, perhaps because of the more fitted sleeves?  It might still be a lot of volume for some people to wear, but she at least doesn’t look like she is drawing in the top, despite it being objectively wider than the previous style.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.27.52 PM3058591_e097ace6c9

I’m always up for a good knit top, and this one seems decent.  The side gather could be a fun detail, as could the diagonal seam, which provides some possible color blocking options as well.  I like the boat neck, and it’s kind of just nice to see an option that isn’t massively voluminous or showcasing crazy flouncey sleeve features.

The bottoms this month aren’t too exciting:

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.10.06 PM3058761_03c2db326f

Can I just ask – who is wearing this in the fall?  I mean, culottes with boots, sure, Burda’s done that before.  But in a drapey rayon challis crazy print?  I’m not buying it.  In the summer beach issues, sure.  But for almost winter?  Nope.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.08.34 PM3058781_6bdbb25e243058531_d9c7e0e6cfScreen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.07.52 PM

I can’t tell if the contrast is just a design feature or an actual kangaroo pouch pocket.  I think I prefer the waistband contrast over the possible faux-pocket contrast, but at least Burda is trying to create interesting details with this design.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.33.17 PM3058631_498780e4353058521_4892afaa8eScreen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.22.19 PM

Sweatpants.  I feel like we’ve gotten a lot of these slightly baggy, slightly cropped, slightly tapered sweatpants lately.  I’d consider making these for lazing about the house, but not so much for actually wearing out and about as a fashion statement.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.05.59 PM3058651_495c66957f3058481_14795c2832 (1)Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.05.14 PM

Ok, I’d like to say that the slight elongation and slimmer fit made these feel more professional, but they seem to have about the same level of fit as the sweatpants above.  And the same pockets.  And the same side zip.  And almost the same waistband.  Like, I don’t mind having multiple versions of the same pattern, but don’t give me two versions of the same pattern and say they are a different pattern.

The Burda Plus section does have some vintage-inspired goodies this month:

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.11.35 PM3058611_9329b98e29

Love this coat!  It’s what the Burda Plus section was missing from October.  The capelette style collar is so pretty!  And the in seam pockets are always such a great feature to have on a coat.  If I didn’t have a subscription and I sewed in the Burda Plus range, I’d buy this issue just for the coat.  As is, I’m going to see if my sister needs some new winter wear…

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.38.11 PM3058661_596d8cac283058851_c28b36b7c3Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.12.56 PM

This flower dress was in the October preview for this month, and it gave me such high hopes for this issue.  Sadly, this dress is one we’ve seen before.  It’s a good style – I really like it on the models and in the line drawing, but it’s not something that was missing from the BurdaStyle Plus line.  I’m also tragically sad that the red coat was just a prop and not an actual pattern because I really wanted to see that worn by the model.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.37.42 PM3058691_89ddc0ecb4

Another dress that is cute, but not particularly new or exciting.  I do like the sleeve ruffle here – it’s a cute detail without being overwhelming.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.37.19 PM3058771_32dfa32cbe

The tunic version is great as well – it could also be a much sleeker version of the dress if you aren’t into all the frills.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.30.46 PM3058621_b9ba4c6233

I like this wrap over blouse, but it really feels like leftovers from last month, especially in this bright purple color.  The understated ruffle is working for me here – once again it’s cute without being overwhelming.

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.17.19 PM3058721_a953c2dca8

Based on the line drawing I thought this top would look massive, but I actually think it looks really cute on the model.  The neckline is great – interesting, but still chic and clean.  I love the vintage nod with the hair and styling too.

The kids section is full of last minute Halloween sewing ideas:

3058861_908301d905Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.15.50 PM3058561_c6a02f115bScreen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.26.57 PM3058841_8df21459fc3058821_a436775c38Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.23.17 PMScreen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.14.32 PM3058571_c627591f8bScreen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.14.39 PMScreen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.24.02 PM3058601_f7eb711ef9Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.25.16 PM3058671_08293bc83c

To be fair, the bat hoodie is kind of adorable.  Especially if you have a kid who is into Batman or Batgirl.  The swan… all I can think of it Barbra Streisand.

And that brings us to the end of the November issue!  As I said, nothing terrible, but just sort of a whole lot of meh.  Still, for consistency we’ve got to pick a top and bottom pattern for the month.  There wasn’t a whole lot that left me drooling, but in the end I’ve given the Best of BS Award to:

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.11.35 PM

The pretty Burda Plus coat!  I love the soft tailoring, the fun collar, and the inseam pocket details.  It’s definitely a coat that could dress up or down, depending on fabric choice, and it would look great with many a fall and winter look.  Hands down the most exciting pattern this month.  Well, unless you really love Batman.

The BWTF award was a bit more challenging to assign, as nothing was truly disappointing this month, but I’ve decided it should go to:

Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 1.10.06 PM

The crazy summer culottes!  Honestly though, these are a tie-waist culotte made in a crazy print fabric.  There aren’t any exceptionally exciting features to redeem it.  I mean, I do like the effect of the waist tie, but I feel like it could make it harder to get the garment on or off.  I can’t even say I like the way Burda styled it here – it seems so disconnected from, well, everything.  It probably wouldn’t have been in the bottom had it been paired with a bikini in the summer, but, as presented, it really is kind of a BWTF.

And there we have it – another month down, and one more issue left to go!  I’m really hoping for something good in December – I really want some fabulous party dresses Burda!  Or, well, something more exciting than this lot in any case.  I feel like November has often been one of my favorite issues of the year, which is perhaps why this one feels so disappointing, but really, I’m just not that excited.  What do you all think?  Am I being too harsh?  Is there some level of creative brilliance I’m missing?  Am I perhaps too saturated from staring at patterns for my Kibbe posts?  Or is this issue really that disappointing?  There are certainly styles I like, but I just feel sort of emotionally detached from this issue as a whole.  Are you excited for this month or does this feel like a sort of catch-all issue for orphan patterns?  Feel free to discuss in the comments!

November 2018 BurdaStyle Magazine #sewing #burdastyle #magazine #patterns #fashion

The full preview of the November BurdaStyle Magazine is up on both the German and Russian…

©






 

SUBSCRIBE:  DIY & Craft feed | Home & Garden feed Fashion & Style feed

 

Related Post: